Checkbook Logo
11/17/2009
5

I trust Gary to work on my car. He is a solid mechanic who I was referred to a few years agoI have a pretty rare and pricey Porsche, so having someone who knows these cars well means a lot to meGary has done a variety of work on my car- oil seals, clutch, as well as basic maintenance. He is able to work things out well with the aftermarket warranty I have for the car, and is reasonably priced

7/9/2009
5

I agree with all of the other postings here. Gary and Paula are fantastic. Gary is super anal, meticulous, hard-working, and extremely knowledgeable. I highly recommend Vanugard. He's taken care of my E39 528i for over 5 years, and before I totaled my 911 cabriolet, he maintained that also.Gary is extremely conscientious, and he always deliver on time and on budget (barring unforeseen circumstances, which can happen, of course). Paula is a joy, and super responsive. All in all, I fully trust Vanguard and have referred many friends there over the years.

6/24/2009
5

A friend of mine recommended Gary to me for my 94 BMW 325i about 8 years ago. I will never take my car anywhere else. I have received nothing but the best service (Paula and Gary truly make me feel like family). I have taken my car into them on numerous occasions for problems on my aging car and have been completely satisfied with their work. Gary has also educated me tremendously about what to look out for by way of preventative maintenance as well. Last time I took my car into them, I was given an estimate, then recieved a call back a few hours later...Paula had found out that a part that needed to be fixed was still under warranty, so it was my estimate was cut in half because of bothered to do the extra research.Don't know where you can get that kind of service elsewhere. Gary and Paula are my kind of people. Hard working and thorough.

6/15/2009
5

Gary and Paula run a tight ship at Vanguard. I was originally referred to Vanguard a few years ago, when my BMW mechanic at the time could not figure out a problem on my car. Gary was able to fix it right away. In time, I eventually came to rely on Gary and his team for all my automobile maintenance jobs and repairs. They are trustworthy, professional, and knowledgeable of all things BMW (and Porsche too). Love them!!!

2/23/2009
5

As a woman who doesn't know much about cars but owns a BMW that is now more than 15 years old, I have come to rely on Gary and his team at Vanguard Motors for their professionalism, honesty and depth of knowledge. It's not often a mechanic will advise you of what is "more important" to be fixed as opposed to a less pressing repair and then help you with the cost breakdown. It's not often you find a mechanic who will inform you when you're spending more on the car than you should. Whether it's an electrical malfunction, headlight to be fixed or engine inspection, I am willing to spend the higher labor cost because of the level of expertise and forthrightness that Vanguard offers. I am so happy with Vanguard, I'm more likely to buy a beemer again just so I don't have to worry about finding another mechanic in town!

2/4/2009
5

When my 10 year old BMW 528i started to die on me, I took it to my normal mechanic who recommended to replace parts that were not needed, I know this because I paid for the parts to get replaced and on the drive home the SAME exact thing happened. The car wouldn't drive above 50 mph, and since I commute to and from work, this is NOT good! It was pretty stressfull since time and money were an issue. I already spent $800+ at my "other" mechanic. After contemplating about selling my BMW, I decided to bring it to Gary who was very professional. Gary and his techs worked on the car no more then 2 days, and fixed the problem. It was a electrical wiring issue that caused the crazy problems my car was having. My other mechanic replaced the throttle body, saying it was stuck close, OMG horrible diagnosis! It didn't fix the problem MR! In other words, bring your BMW to a BMW specialist.. don't cut corners trying to save money.If it wasn't for Vanguard, I'd probably be $20,000 in debt from buying a new car! XOXO!

1/24/2009
5

2001 325iPros: Fair, not high (for BMW expert shop) pricing. Also gives 10% parts-only discount for BMW CCA membership. Very knowledgeable and willing to share (answered every technical question in as much detail as I wanted); Very thorough (found other *real* problems in addition to what I came in for and told me what and when others would show up in this vintage and mileage car); Local family-run small-business (Gary and Paula, friendly, conscientious, remembers customers names and problems); Honest (final cost met initial estimate, Gary seems willing to explain in any level detail you want about your repair. Also, I wanted to have something done and Gary advised wasn't needed though it could've been an easy $150 more.) Considerations: Only Monday to Friday 7:30 or 8 to about 5:30 (but since it's a family, they and their mechanics have to have a life too!). I don't know if you can make arrangements for later pick-up. If you can get the Polish+soda deal for a buck and a half at Costco just down the street, then as the five stars tagline says, it's "as good as it gets" in a bad world.

12/19/2008
5

Took an 02 BMW M3 I was thinking of purchasing to Vanguard for a pre-purchase inspection based off the glowing reviews here. Gary was very thorough - he went over everything with a fine toothcomb, taking photos of all the trouble spots and pointing out even the tiniest flaws in the paint. I ended up buying the car, and three weeks later I'm driving to work and hear a loud bang followed be a sound like something was scraping along the ground. I was dreading having to pony up the big bucks, but turns out it was just a bolt that holds the differential to the frame that fell off. I was so relieved, Gary called me and said he'd tightened the bolt and the whole thing was just a fraction of what I thought I'd have to pay. Gary provided outstanding service, turning it around in the same day. Definitely AAA+.

5/6/2008
5

Gary and the crew at Vanguard do a great job on my 29 year old Porsche. They did a correct rebuild of my worn synchronizers in the transmission, getting it right the first time. They know these cars well, and are great at troubleshooting problems, without having you spend unnecessarily. Want a detailed explanation of how something works, why it broke, and what will it take to fix it? No problem! Everything is explained carefully and understandably. My son has had great service there on his older BMW, too. Great shop!Larry

12/26/2007
5

First, condolences on buying an out-of-warranty BMW. Second, you'll be glad you've found Vanguard. So far they've always been able to schedule this car promptly, and the work always gets done on time. I like that Gary goes through a thorough explanation of the work he does, and I've never had the slightest sense that he's done something unnecessary. A little anecdote illustrates Gary's attention to detail and love of these cars: When I bought this car the little plastic cover on the negative terminal on the engine block was broken off. When I first took the car to Gary, he mentioned that it was broken, and I just put that at the bottom of my to-do list. A time or two later when I picked up the car, the cover had been replaced, and he never mentioned doing it, and he never billed me for it. I like that.

If You Are Using A Screen Reader And Are Having Problems Using This Website, please call Vanguard Motors (415) 255-8450 For Assistance.